Difference Between ITIL and PRINCE2 Certification 

Difference Between ITIL and PRINCE2 Certification 

In the present competitive job market, having a certification in a specialized field can give you an edge over other candidates. Two of the most sought-after certifications in information technology (IT) are ITIL and PRINCE2. While Axelos authorizes PRINCE2 Certification, even ITIL certification can be earned by completing an ITIL Course from any institute that is Axelos-authorized. Read this blog further to learn the difference between ITIL and PRINCE2 Agile Certifications.

ITIL and PRINCE2 Certifications are highly valued in the IT industry. Organizations are increasingly looking for professionals with ITIL and PRINCE2 Certifications, as it assures them that the individual has the necessary skills and knowledge to manage IT services and projects effectively.

This blog aims to provide a comprehensive comparison between ITIL and PRINCE2 Certifications. This comparison will cover the structure, levels, exams, and training of each Certification and the differences between them. After reading this blog, you should better understand which Certification is right for you based on your career goals and interests.

ITIL Certification 

ITIL Certification is a globally recognized credential demonstrating an individual’s knowledge of best practices in IT service management. ITIL certification consists of modules covering various aspects of IT service management and is available in multiple levels, including ITIL Foundation, Intermediate, Expert, and Master. ITIL certification provides benefits such as demonstrating expertise in IT service management, improving job prospects, and enhancing the ability to implement ITIL methodologies. The ITIL certification exam is a multiple-choice exam consisting of up to 40 questions for the ITIL Foundation level and eight scenario-based questions for the ITIL Intermediate and Expert levels. ITIL certification training is available from accredited training providers in classroom-based, online, or self-paced formats.

PRINCE2 Certification

PRINCE2 Certification is a recognized project management framework that certifies a project manager’s expertise in PRINCE2 methodology. It provides benefits like global recognition, improved skills, increased earning potential, and job opportunities. The certification has two levels, Foundation and Practitioner, and the exam consists of multiple-choice questions with a passing score of 55% for the Foundation level and 50% for the Practitioner level. Training is available online or in-person, covering principles, themes, and processes of PRINCE2 methodology, and is offered by accredited training organizations.

Comparison of ITIL and PRINCE2 Certifications

ITIL and PRINCE2 are two well-known project management frameworks widely used in the IT industry. While both focus on project management, ITIL primarily deals with IT service management, and PRINCE2 focuses on managing projects.

Differences in Certification Structure 

ITIL certification has a hierarchical structure with four levels: Foundation, Intermediate, Expert, and Master. PRINCE2 certification, on the other hand, has two levels: Foundation and Practitioner.

Differences in Certification Levels 

ITIL Foundation covers basic IT service management concepts, whereas ITIL Intermediate and Expert levels focus on specific areas of IT service management. PRINCE2 Foundation provides an overview of the methodology, while the Practitioner level focuses on applying it to real-world projects.

Differences in Certification Exam 

The ITIL Foundation exam consists of 40 multiple-choice questions with a passing score of 65%. The ITIL Intermediate and Expert exams have scenario-based questions and require candidates to achieve a passing score of 70% or higher. The PRINCE2 Foundation exam has 60 multiple-choice questions, and the passing score is 55%. The PRINCE2 Practitioner exam has 68 objective testing questions with a passing score of 50%.

Differences in Certification Training 

ITIL certification training covers IT service management concepts and best practices. PRINCE2 certification training covers project management methodology and how to apply it. ITIL and PRINCE2 training can be taken online or in person and are offered by accredited training organizations.

Which Certification to Choose? 

Choosing between ITIL and PRINCE2 certifications depends on the individual’s career path and industry focus. ITIL certification is a better option if the individual is interested in IT service management. On the other hand, if the individual is interested in project management, PRINCE2 Certification is a more suitable choice.

Additionally, both certifications complement each other and can be combined to enhance the individual’s skill set. For example, an IT professional with ITIL certification can benefit from PRINCE2 Certification by gaining project management skills. Similarly, a project manager with PRINCE2 Certification can benefit from ITIL certification by gaining IT service management skills.

In summary, ITIL and PRINCE2 certifications are valuable and globally recognized in the IT industry. Choosing the right Certification depends on the individual’s career goals and industry focus. However, both certifications can enhance the individual’s skillset and increase their career prospects.


ITIL and PRINCE2 certifications offer valuable skills and knowledge for professionals in the IT industry. They have globally recognized certifications that enhance the individual’s career prospects and increase their earning potential. Choosing the right Certification depends on the individual’s career goals and industry focus. However, taking both certifications can complement each other and enhance the individual’s skill set.

Also read : Major Causes to Use a Airport Limousine Assistance